Quest for the Vault Disney

Home » Disney Archives » I Want My D-TV

I Want My D-TV

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other subscribers

Welcome back, and thanks for taking the time to read my thoughts.

Dtv

In 1984, a year after the premiere of The Disney Channel, D-TV was introduced as a five minute short between standard evening programming.  Playing off of MTV music videos, D-TV was a classic oldie song mixed with Disney animation.

In all, over 150 songs were included in the D-TV packaging.  The “throwaway” program ended up being very popular, and ended up being packaged in three holiday specials on NBC: “D-TV Valentine”, 1986; “D-TV Doggone Valentine” 1987; and “D-TV Monster Hits”, 1987.

dtv_monster

Based on the popularity of the series, Disney created D-TV2 in 1989, which consisted of contemporary music of the day, such as Janet Jackson’s “Escapade” mixed with the classic cartoons.

Both series ceased airing on Disney in 1999.  In 2009 Disney attempted to revive the series, rebranded as Re-Micks with contemporary music such as Black Eyed Peas and Ne-Yo.

As the original D-TV was very popular, Disney did release several compilations on D-TV on VHS and laserdisc.  They series is not available on DVD or blu-ray, and as stated, not currently available on television either.  With some searching, some videos can be found online.  I would highly suggest Disney again release these videos on air and on DVD so they can be enjoyed by the public again.

 DTV-GoldenOldies1-front

I thank you for taking the time to read this today. I ask you would please leave comments.  You may contact me directly on Twitter @Quest4VaultDisn, and you may also subscribe to be alerted by email when new postings are published. Quest for Vault Disney is now on Facebook. Please visit https://www.facebook.com/groups/questforvaultdisney. Have a great rest of your day. See ya real soon…


2 Comments

  1. Ken Alegre says:

    This brings back so many memories of the original Disney Channel. I enjoyed this. Thanks for posting!

  2. Chris Harter says:

    Millions of people would enjoy these! I know my grown kids and I would!

Leave a comment