Quest for the Vault Disney

Home » Disney » Disney+ (/-?) : A Quester’s Review

Disney+ (/-?) : A Quester’s Review

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other subscribers

Top Posts & Pages

It has now been several weeks since the launch of Disney+, the new streaming service from the Mouse’s empire. As previously written, this is a service I have been excited for since it was first announced – and preregistered for the service. I’ve not yet posted about the experiences I have had as I wanted to give it a long term look before jumping to any rash conclusions.

Full disclosure, I am not receiving any kind of compensation for my thoughts or opinions, nor am I receiving Disney+ through any kind of bundled deal- I have paid the disney-plus-logoupfront cost for an annual subscription (following the standard one week trial that Disney offered to all customers). This is the base package, as I have not bundled with Hulu or ESPN+.

Overall, I am enjoying Disney+ and the content it has to offer. During the day, my son can watch episodes of Disney Junior programming that has been pushed to Disney+. However, the service does not stream current season episodes. Therefore, if he wants to watch Mickey’s Mixed-Up Adventures or season three of Puppy Dog Pals, we must close out of Disney+ app and launch the Disney Now app instead. I had expected to see current season shows added on a weekly basis, as Disney does with its Hulu streaming service, as well as the Disney+ Original Series.

Speaking of Disney+ Original Series – WOW. The Mandalorian, the first Star Wars based Mandaloriantelevision series, has garnered the lion’s share of attention from Disney+ viewers, and with good cause. Jon Favreau has created a fantastic series with new characters, memorable writing and plenty of action. I have spoken.

There is other original content available on Disney+ as well, such as The Imagineer Story, a six-episode documentary series from director Leslie Iwerks. Imagineering StoryThis is the content I had signed up to see, as it offers a behind the scene look at the building of the Disney parks – from the concept of Disneyland to the modern marvels still being created. This series has easily been my favorite thing to view on Disney+, having watched each episode multiple times to glean new information and research nuggets I might have missed on first view.

Speaking of misses – there are a few that I have found within the streaming service. The most glaring is that not all Disney content has been made available. Some, such as the long-embattled Song of the South, likely will not be made available in the near future. Other content that I had hoped for still has not been released. For example, I had been hoping to see The Wonderful World of Disney released – and while there have been some episodes released, (listed by their episode names “The Plausible Impossible” and “Disneyland Around the Seasons), the vast majority of the series remains locked in the infamous vault. Plausible ImpossibleThe same can be said for Mickey Mouse Club, where the first five episodes of the first season is available, whereas the rest of the series (including the 1970 and 1990 revivals) are not. Still, some vintage/classic content is better than none.

Other misses are more technical – such as the lack of a “Next Episode” button or “Autoplay” option when watching some of the Disney+ Original Series shorts, such as Forky Asks a Question – the viewer is forced to exit out of the title and manually select the next episode. I’m finding the “Resume Watching” option to be sketchy during select series – I find no matter where I try to resume an episode of The Simpsons, I am taken back to the opening title sequence.

Still, for every missed Welcome to Pooh Corner or Dumbo’s Circus there is, there is a welcomed Ducktales (both the original season and the current DisneyXD series) and Gargoyles – hidden Disney treasures that were a part of the original concept of starting this site, to educate and campaign for the release of these titles. Disney+ has come a long way in opening the Disney Vault, but there are still many more titles locked away, waiting to be streamed by anxious viewers. Granted – Disney could not simply unload their vast library all at once. By releasing content over time, it will build anticipation and more subscribers.

Overall, I am very happy with the service. It has not become by only streaming source, although it is my favorite source for content daily streaming. There’s work to be done, but I highly recommend it to any Disney fan.

How about you? What are you enjoying streaming? Have you found some hidden gems that I have failed to mention? Please, leave comments and let me know what you think of the service.

I thank you for taking the time to read this today. I ask you would please leave comments.  You may contact me directly on Twitter @Quest4VaultDisn, and you may also subscribe to be alerted by email when new postings are published. Quest for Vault Disney is now on Facebook. Please visit https://www.facebook.com/groups/questforvaultdisney. Have a great rest of your day. See ya real soon…


4 Comments

  1. Greg Clapp says:

    I pretty much agree with your assessment, including minor gripes about the app’s functionality itself. On the other hand, blessedly it doesn’t autoplay like Neflix! I’m super happy to see the main animated features come out of the vault, but I also would like to see more World of Color and World of Disney episodes, and more of the old educational films. Disneyland Around the Seasons was a treat! And I could watch The Reluctant Dragon over and over and over!

  2. Cookie says:

    You should do a follow up. “Disney+, One Year Later.”

  3. Woodie says:

    I assume the quest is as abandoned as this blog. Shame.

  4. Ari says:

    Why is this the last post? Have you given up the quest?
    I enjoyed reading through the blog and had hoped you had more to talk about with Disney+.

Leave a comment