Quest for the Vault Disney

Home » Disneyland » Planning a Trip? What to Bring

Planning a Trip? What to Bring

Recently I offered some advice on what to do while making a visit to Disneyland for the first time.  Today I want to look at another bit of trip preparation, that being what to bring INTO the park with you.

I admit, the concept sounds simple, just bring what you need. But what do you need?  And how do you bring it to make your trip enjoyable without weighing yourself down.  Here’s where the planning comes into play.)

To  begin your journey, an easy to carry travel bag is needed.  I prefer a backpack, but as you (or someone in your party) will be the one carrying the bag, it is up to you to decide what you are comfortable carrying.  Ultimately, it should be the bar-bearer who should decide what are comfortable with.

Bag

The first thing to go into the bag is your greatest ally for a day at Disney, a bottle of water. Preferably a liter sized bottle with a sports top, to avoid the dreaded “dropping the lid on the ground” issue.  If you’re local, or staying in a hotel, put it in the fridge the night before so its nice and cold the next morning. Therefore, the first and most important item in your bag will also be the last item into your bag.

Water Bottles

There are several reasons why a water bottle is the most important item in the bag. First, hydration, obviously. It’s hot in the parks, and its if you don’t have a water bottle, it will cost $3 to get one inside the park. A water bottle will be a great resource at counter service meal times when trying to keep costs down. As well, this bottle can be refilled throughout the day, again keeping the cost down.

Secondly, sunscreen. Apply liberally. Along with this, any toiletries that you may need. Aspirin, etc. You know your body, plan accordingly.

Next, put in some plastic zipper sandwich bags. If carrying some medicine/aspirin, place inside one back. Place your cell phone in another one on any ride with the sign “You may/will get wet.” Your pocket and your Otter Box won’t be enough protection. Guys, do the same with your wallet.

WetSign

One more suggestion from me: Beef Jerky. This is the lightest portable snack I can think of, and it’s in my bag every time I go to Disney. Being high in protein, its filling and easy to get to while waiting in line as well.  Remember, I have shown its possible to eat at Disney for $40 a day, and now you see my trump card that makes it possible.  Not all Disney meals are filling, snacking and grazing is necessary to complete the challenge fully.

Personally, my phone is my camera, so I don’t pack a camera, but if you do, put it in the bag. Phone charger or spare battery needs to go into another zipper bag and into the bag.  I take the weather as it is, so I don’t carry a sweatshirt or jacket, as its just extra weight, but its an option.

Phone

The important thing is to make sure any bag you have with you holds everything you’ll need during the day. If it ends up too bulky, there is the option of using the lockers just outside the main gate, but I hope this list makes it possible to carry a bag of essentials all day long without needed to break away to head to the lockers.

I thank you for taking the time to read this today. I ask you would please leave comments.  You may contact me directly on Twitter @Quest4VaultDisn, and you may also subscribe to be alerted by email when new postings are published. Quest for Vault Disney is now on Facebook. Please visit https://www.facebook.com/groups/questforvaultdisney. Have a great rest of your day. See ya real soon…

1 Comment

  1. I always take compeed as I always end up with blisters and these plasters cure all!

Leave a Reply

