Quest for the Vault Disney

Home » Disneyland » Barhopping and Munchies

Barhopping and Munchies

Hello, and welcome back to my thoughts and musings.  Recently, I presented a question to you, my readers, and today I shall reveal which beverage reigns supreme.  But first I would like to recount a recent journey that I took, and also open the door to discussion.

Image

Last week I was in the Southern California area for some non-Disney related business, and I ended up in the Downtown Disney District for an evening.  By the time I finished a meal with friends, I only had 3 hours until the park closed, so I decided to save my funds for when I have more time available, and did not enter Disneyland or Disney California Adventure.

Image

So close yet so far away

I ended up with two takeaways from this visit to Downtown Disney. First, it’s a great area to visit when you’re not in the park.  That seems simple, but for as much as I go to Disneyland, I never “experience” Downtown Disney.  It’s an area I pass through as I’m hurrying to the Disneyland Hotel or to the Tram to the Mickey and Friends Parking Structure.  But taking your time, enjoying a meal and experiencing the shops was a very pleasurable experience.  Plus, the area offers 3 hours free parking, 5 with validation.

Secondly, you can get a Mint Julep in Downtown Disney! Seriously, who knew? Just about anyone who eats at Ralph Brennan’s Jazz Kitchen.  I had one, and was very happy to have it.  It almost made up for not being in the park.  Okay, not really, but it tasted good and was refreshing.  Not as good as the ones at the Mint Julep Bar, but in a pinch, it came in handy.

Image

Now, let’s get down to business.  Last week I asked what was your favorite refreshing beverage at Disneyland, the Mint Julep or the Dole Whip Float.  With over two-thirds of the votes, the clear “winner” is the Dole Whip Float.  I thank each of you who voted for taking part.

This week, I have another question, and I want to keep it open, so please, answer in the comments section below and let’s have a fun debate.  It’s a very open ended question, but what is your favorite thing to eat inside Disneyland or Disney California Adventure. Again, this is all for fun, there is no right or wrong answer, but tell me what you think.  I’ll share mine in a future posting.

Image

I thank you for taking the time to read this today. I ask you would please leave comments.  You may contact me directly on Twitter @Quest4VaultDisn, and you may also subscribe to be alerted by email when new postings are published. Quest for Vault Disney is now on Facebook. Please visit https://www.facebook.com/groups/questforvaultdisney. Have a great rest of your day. See ya real soon…

4 Comments

  1. terry says:

    Chimichunga also make great hand warmer in winter

  2. jeremy says:

    The first thing that comes it mind is a frozen chocolate covered banana

  3. I’m receiving some answers via Facebook, I’ll share those here as well. I’ll be using initials only:
    JH: Never been to Disneyland but at Epcot the Grand Marnier orange slush is pretty awesome!
    JF: I have to say it is not disney but at T-Rex had the best ever Mud slide.
    Keep the feedback coming!

  4. Time to give a few more Facebook answers:
    JS: I like the churros.
    RK: Monte Cristos of course!

Leave a Reply

