Quest for the Vault Disney

Home » Disney Archives » Dear Disney Programming

Dear Disney Programming

Hello, and thanks for taking the time to read my thoughts again today.  Instead of Disney history today, a quick look at the process that inspired this blog.  Last week I engaged on a Twitter discussion with some friends regarding Disney programming, which spawned this blog entry: http://confessionsofadisnerd.com/2013/06/21/lock-me-in-the-vault/ (please note, I welcome all to follow me on twitter: @jostephenson78)

I posted a comment on that feed, which I also emailed directly to the Disney Company.  Below are the comments I posted on Friday, as well as the email response I received from Disney this morning.  As you can see, there is still some work to be done…

I have many memories that came from the Disney Channel. My parents decided to splurge for the premium channels, and us kids could watch 41 (DC) but not 42 (HBO) unless they told us we could. But I digress.

Waking up and watching Welcome to Pooh Corner, Dumbo’s Circus, and the black and white Mickey Mouse Club. Years later I would watch the new Mickey Mouse Club and Kids Incorporated, not knowing these kids that were just like me would become big names for the rest of my life.

These are shows that shaped me, and many other Disneyana fans of my generation. I know I was not alone in watching The Wonderful World of Disney, first when it was on at noon, and in later years when it was on in the middle of the night. And I would watch these shows with my mom and dad, and see the memories they had of seeing their favorite shows again.

July 17, 1995 was the first time I got to see Dateline Disneyland, the largest LIVE broadcast when it was produced on opening day.

I wish we had a channel again devoted to the Disney of long ago, and not so long ago. How many of us long to see The Disney Afternoon block again? To watch Darkwing Duck and Gummi Bears with our children. I know its not just me. And consider this as well, I write this on June 21, 2013. 25 years ago today Who Framed Roger Rabbit was released in the theater. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to have a channel that would honor this bit of history by airing the movie tonight? And promote it during the week(s) in advance with the actual movie trailers from 1988?

There are countless reels of film inside Disney Archives just begging to be let out of the tins. Even if they were not digitally remastered, why not bring them back to the airwaves for the public to enjoy. We Disney fans may be a specific demographic, but we are many, and we would watch.

Hi Jesse,

Thank you for contacting us.

If you wish to leave a voice message regarding Disney Channel U.S. programming, you may do so at 818-460-7477.

Please note that the above number is a toll number. Long distance charges will apply.

If you are under 18 years of age, please ask for permission prior to dialing the above number.

Regards,

Jermaine
Disney Online
http://disney.go.com

Leave a Reply

