Quest for the Vault Disney

Home » Disneyland » Remembrances

Remembrances

Welcome back, thanks for taking the time to read.

As I stated previously, my goal here is to share and hopefully unlock the Disney Archives of historic material fans would enjoy seeing again (and again and again).  To that affect, there are parts of the Disney Archives that cannot be seen again, as we already have 999 Grim Grinning Ghosts and cannot seem to increase that number.

Image

On June 22, 1920 Paul Frees was born.  Paul played a role in Disneyland through his voice work.  Most would not know him by name, or by face, but through the attractions he lent his voice too.

Image

However, you would know Paul if you knew this fellow:

Image (he did the voice of the auctioneer on the right, not the stout-heart corn fed lass on the left).

He also did the narration for Great Moments with Mr. Lincoln*:

Image

Royal Dano provides the voice for Abe Lincoln, Paul Freese provides the narration.

Paul Frees also was the original Ghost Host on the Haunted Mansion attraction, and did the voice of the shrinking scientist on Adventures thru Inner Space (that is a discussion for another day).

Though Paul Frees passed away in 1986*, his work is still heard throughout the theme parks today and is a true Disney icon worth being remembered.  Also of note, Paul did voice work in many cartoons of the 60s, including the timeless Frosty the Snowman, Top Cat, and The Flintstones.  He was also the original voice of Froot Loop‘s Toucan Sam.

I thank you for taking the time to read this today. I ask you would please leave comments.  You may contact me directly on Twitter @Quest4VaultDisn, and you may also subscribe to be alerted by email when new postings are published. Quest for Vault Disney is now on Facebook. Please visit https://www.facebook.com/groups/questforvaultdisney. Have a great rest of your day. See ya real soon…

*Please read the comments for corrections to this post. JS

7 Comments

  1. Fred Frees says:

    Just a few corrections: Paul was not the voice of President Lincoln. He was the voice that introduced Lincoln. Also, he died in 1986, not 1996. I don’t recall him doing voices in The Flintstones and Top Cat, but he did do voices in Secret Squirrel and Squiddley Diddley. I know all this because Paul Frees was my dad.

    • Fred (and all others),

      I apologize for the errors, it is my desire to be completely accurate in my postings, especially when I speaking of facts and not just offering my opinion. Absolutely Paul was the introductory voice to Great Moments With Mr. Lincoln, and I meant to convey that. As well, I meant to put 1986 as the year of death, I mistakenly hit the wrong key, and I failed to proof read my work.

      Speaking to his “outside Disney” roles, I found through my research Paul did play roles in specific episodes of The Flintstones and Top Cat, but not a regular, recurring role as I had made it sound. I should have been clearer in my intent. I chose those two shows out of his vast resume based on name recognition and not the role he played. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0293659/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1

      Please know I meant no disrespect to Paul or to anyone associated with Paul. He was a great talent and I wanted to share my respect. To all my readers, I will ensure I take greater steps to be clear in my messages moving forward. JS

  2. […] entrance of Tomorrowland, this attraction stood where Star Tours 2.0 currently is.  Narrated by Paul Frees, this ride took park guests in omni-mover pods through the Mighty Microscope, […]

  3. […] think think…with no offense to Paul Frees or Jim Cummings, and even Clarence Nash, today we look at the most distinct, well recognized voice […]

  4. […] looking for something new and exciting. In 1966 Monsanto was able to deliver by introducing the Paul Frees‘ narrated Adventures Through InnerSpace attraction.  Via the Omnimover developed by Rollie […]

  5. […] Mighty Microscope so they could enter a snowflake and explore its chemical breakdown. Narrated by Paul Frees, this was the first attraction in the park to utilize the Omnimover ride system. This allowed the […]

  6. […] Mighty Microscope so they could enter a snowflake and explore its chemical breakdown. Narrated by Paul Frees, this was the first attraction in the park to utilize the Omnimover ride system. This allowed the […]

Leave a Reply

